Feb 26, 2024  
2022-2023 Graduate Catalog 
    
2022-2023 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Tuition and Fees


 

Beginning Fall 2017, graduate students will be billed at the current yearly rate. The new rate will begin each academic year in the fall semester.

For details of cost by undergraduate/graduate status and residency (Texas/border county resident, non-resident border state, non-resident out-of-state, non-resident international) by semester credit hour, please check Cost of Attendance (http://www.wtamu.edu/business-office-cost-of-attendance.aspx).

Education on Demand Courses are not included in the guaranteed tuition and fee plan.

Tuition

Statutory Tuition - Statutory tuition rates are set by the Texas Legislature. The rate for Texas residents is $50 per semester credit hour. The non-resident border state and non-resident out of state rate is $80 per semester credit hour after TEC 54.0601 waiver is applied. Undergraduate students must maintain a 3.0 GPA in their program to retain waiver. If the GPA is not maintained, the student will lose the waiver and will be billed at the 2017-2018 statutory tuition rate of $154.12 per semester credit hour.

Designated Tuition - Designated tuition rates are set by the University, and revenue generated is utilized for operations of the University, state mandated set-asides for need-based scholarships, and building upkeep and improvement.  Designated tuition is charged per semester credit hour up to 12 hours, is a fixed amount for 12 to 18 hours, and is charged per semester credit hour for hours above 18 per term. If the student enrolls in 19 hours, the designated tuition rate increases per semester credit hour.

Differential Tuition - Differential tuition is a separate tuition charged per semester credit hour to students who have been admitted into the following programs:

  • Nursing program with a declared major of nursing
  • College of Business with a declared major in any business program
  • College of Engineering with a declared major in engineering, engineering technology, or computer science. 

The differential tuition charge is assessed only when the student has matriculated from pre-nursing, pre-business, or pre-engineering/computer science.

Mandatory Fees

University Services Fee - A mandatory fee, assessed per semester credit hour; these fees are used to support the operations of the following programs/services:  Student Advising Services, international education, library, records, technology, traffic and safety, transportation, and Washington, D.C. interns.

Enhancement Fees - These fees vary and are assessed per term, and are not a guaranteed rate. A mandatory flat fee, subject to annual adjustment as approved by the A&M Board of Regents, assigned for specific majors:

  • Accreditation enhancement fee for students admitted into the undergraduate and graduate Education, (Teacher prep)
  • Accreditation enhancement fee for students admitted into the undergraduate and graduate Social Work programs
  • Music Program Enhancement Fee for students with a declared major in Music
  • Music Voice Program Enhancement Fee for students enrolling in Voice courses.

Health Fee - A mandatory flat fee for the operation of Student Medical Services, an on campus medical clinic open to students during semesters the student is enrolled in course work. Staffing includes family medical physician, two family nurse practitioners, one licensed clinical social worker, one consulting psychiatrist, x-ray technician and two registered nurses. Student Medical Services accepts students with and without medical insurance.

Student Service Fee - A mandatory fee, assessed per semester credit hour for all enrolled students; these fees are distributed by the Campus Student Fee Committee for various campus services and organizations.

Student Center Complex Fee - A mandatory fee, assessed per semester credit hour; this fee is used for operation and maintenance of student centers across both the Canyon and Amarillo campuses for all learning spaces such as classrooms, lecture rooms, social centers, and research areas.

Rec Sports Fee - A mandatory flat fee used to help to finance, construct, operate, maintain and improve recreational sports facilities and programs open to all enrolled students who are not members of competing NCAA teams in specified sports. For example, members of the basketball team may not participate on Rec Sports basketball teams, but may compete in other sports such as flag football and softball.

Intercollegiate Athletic Fee - A mandatory fee distributed by the University for debt service on the recreational/sports complex and by the Athletic Director for all Intercollegiate Athletic activities and scholarships recognized by the NCAA.

 

Tuition and Fees Refund Procedure

Section 54.006 of the Education Code sets the policy for refund of tuition and mandatory fees to students who withdraw from the University. The policy for withdrawals is a follows:

If a student withdraws during a fall or spring semester or a summer term of 10 weeks or longer, the refund is as follows:

(A) prior to the first class day 100 percent (less $15.00 matriculation fee)
(B) during the first five class days 80 percent
(C) during the second five class days 70 percent
(D) during the third five class days 50 percent
(E) during the fourth five class days 25 percent
(F) after the fourth five class days None

If a student withdraws during a term or session of more than five weeks but less than 10 weeks, the refund is as follows:

(A) prior to the first class day 100 percent (less $15.00 matriculation fee)
(B) during the first, second, or third class day 80 percent
(C) during the fourth, fifth, or sixth class day 50 percent
(D) seventh day of class and thereafter None

If a student withdraws from a term or session of five weeks or less, the refund is as follows:

(A) prior to the first class day 100 percent (less $15.00 matriculation fee)
(B) during the first class day 80 percent
(C) during the second class day 50 percent
(D) during the third class day and thereafter None

The refund is calculated on the total cost of tuition and mandatory fees charged for the courses in which the student was enrolled prior to withdrawal.

If a student drops a class on or before the census date of the semester (12th class day for fall and spring semesters; 4th class day for summer terms) and remains enrolled in at least one course for that term, the tuition and mandatory fees for the dropped class will be refunded to the student.